• Technical Conference: 

    9 - 14 May 2021

  • Exhibition: 

    11 – 13 May 2021

Maiman Student Paper Competition

The Maiman Student Paper Competition honors Theodore Maiman for his amazing invention, the first working laser, and his other outstanding contributions to optics and photonics, and recognizes the innovation, research excellence and presentation skills in the areas of laser technology and electro-optics of a student.

OSA Foundation Logo

The award is endowed by a grant from HRL Laboratories, LLC, IEEE Photonics Society and APS Division of Laser Science and is administered by the OSA Foundation. Papers submitted to CLEO: 2021 during the regular “call for papers” are eligible for entry. 

The finalists will present their papers to a panel of judges in a private session during CLEO. The top prize winner receives $3,000 USD, two honorable mention recipients each receive a certificate. The results will be announced on-site during the Plenary Session.


Criteria for Eligibility
All the following criteria must be met:

  • The presenting author must be an undergraduate or graduate student of an educational institution of collegiate grade who is devoting more than half-time to studies within the institution at the time the paper was written.
  • Submitting authors must opt-in to the competition during the regular submission process and follow all the instructions provided on the submission site.
  • Papers must be submitted and accepted during the regular “call for papers” process for CLEO (Note: Postdeadline Papers are not part of this competition).
  • Student must present the paper during CLEO.

Selection process:

  • All properly submitted papers are reviewed and scored according to standard CLEO Technical Program Committee review criteria.
  • The highest scoring student papers from each submission category (currently there are twenty-nine [29] categories) will be considered semi-finalists.
  • The Maiman Student Paper Award Review Committee will review all semi-finalists and select three to five finalists.
  • Finalists are judged on innovation, research excellence and presentation skills. Each finalist will present their paper to the Review Committee in a private session.
  • The top prize winner receives $3,000 USD; two honorable mention recipients each receive a certificate.

To find out more about the OSA Foundation and its student grants, awards and prizes visit www.osa.org/foundation.

Sponsored by: