• Technical Conference:  5 – 10 May 2019
  • Exhibition: 7 – 9 May 2019

Show Floor Workshops

CLEO workshops are a unique forum for the audience to discuss pressing topics with leading experts. For 2019, two of these sessions will be held on the show floor, open to all attendees.


Interested in more Workshops? Register as a Full (Technical) Conference Attendee for access to the complete program.


Quantum Information Science and Technology Initiatives

Tuesday, 7 May
Exhibit Hall Theater I

Nationally-driven research initiatives in quantum information science and technology have grown as quickly as the fields themselves in recent years. This panel will explore the state of the research, the initiatives, and the potential international competitiveness, and cooperation that comes with them.


Sergey Polyakov, National Institute of Standards and Technology, USA


Marissa Giustina, Google, USA

David Lang, The Optical Society (OSA), USA

Christopher Monroe, University of Maryland, College Park, USA

Cheng-Zhi Peng, University of Science and Technology of China, China

Michael Raymer, University of Oregon, USA

Carl Williams, National Institute of Standards and Technology, USA


Beyond Awareness: What Actions Can Be Taken to Improve Diversity in STEM?

Exhibit Hall Theater II

Wednesday, 8 May

10:30 - 12:00

In the physical sciences, women and minorities have seen slower improvements in representation compared to fields such as medicine and law. Information on how to improve this representation in STEM is also difficult to find. This workshop brings together leaders of professional organizations and subject matter experts to discuss policies and actions that can improve gender, racial, LGBTQI and disability diversity within the physics, engineering and optics communities.

Arti Agrawal, University of Technology Sydney, Australia
Ben Eggleton, University of Sydney, Australia
Tara Fortier, National Institute of Standards & Technology, USA
Christina Willis, Consultant, USA


Kate Kirby, Chief Executive Officer, American Physical Society
Doug Razzano, Executive Director, IEEE Photonics Society
Kent Rochford, Chief Executive Officer, SPIE
Elizabeth A. Rogan, Chief Executive Officer, The Optical Society
Meg Urry, Yale University




Sponsored by: