• Technical Conference:  10 – 15 May 2020
  • Exhibition: 12 – 14 May 2020

Metasurface Flat Optics

Metasurface Flat Optics

Tuesday, 7 May
Exhibit Hall Theater II

Session Description:

Sub-wavelength scale artificially structured dielectric surfaces, known as metasurfaces, enable the redesign of optical components such as lenses into thin, planar, and multifunctional elements.  This leads to a major reduction in thickness, footprint, and system complexity, and leads to ease of optical alignment and aberration control.  As well, this leads to the introduction of new optical functions, thus circumventing the limitations of refractive and conventional diffractive optics.  The planarity of flat optics facilitates the unification of semiconductor manufacturing and lens-making, where the planar technology to manufacture chips will be adapted to make CMOS compatible metasurface-based optical components for high volume markets and for specialty applications, ranging from metalenses to novel polarization optics and to multifunctional optical elements. 

Federico Capasso, Harvard Univ., USA

Federico Capasso is a world leader in nanophotonics and principal contributor to metasurfaces and Flat Optics since their beginnings, and has widely lectured on these topics through plenary talks, tutorials, and courses.  He pioneered bandgap engineering of artificially structured semiconductors which led him and his collaborators to the invention and development of the quantum cascade laser.  He is the Robert Wallace Professor of Applied Physics at Harvard University, which he joined in 2003 after 27 years at Bell Labs where his career advanced from postdoctoral fellow to VP for Physical Research. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering and a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the National Academy of Inventors. He is the recipient of numerous international awards such as the Balzan Foundation Prize in Applied Optics, the King Faisal International Prize for Science, the Arthur Schawlow Prize of The American Physical Society (APS), The Optical Society of America (OSA) Wood Prize; the Wetherill Medal of the Franklin Institute, the Materials Research Society Medal and the IEEE Edison Medal.  He is a Fellow of all three of the CLEO Sponsors: the OSA, the IEEE, and the APS.                           

Sponsored by: