• Technical Conference:  10 – 15 May 2020
  • Exhibition: 12 – 14 May 2020

Top Students Recognized for Excellence in Optics at CLEO 2015


13 May 2015

OSA Media Relations

Top Students Recognized for Excellence in Optics at CLEO 2015

Awards honor the living history of notable achievements in optics and photonics

SAN JOSE — The OSA Foundation has announced the recipients of its student awards and travel grants. The awards will be presented during CLEO 2015, taking place this week at the San Jose Convention Center, San Jose, California, USA. 

James P. Gordon Memorial Speakership

Dr. Jean-Michael Raimond, Universite Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris/ENS, France, won for his submission entitled, “Quantum State Control with Atoms and Cavities.” Recorded and archived in The Optical Society’s media library, Raimond’s presentation will serve as an educational resource for the next generation of optics and photonics leaders. He will also receive a check for $1,500 and a certificate.

Established in 2014, the James P. Gordon Memorial Endowment funds a CLEO invited speaker on Quantum Information and Quantum Optics. This speakership pays tribute to Dr. Gordon’s numerous high-impact contributions to quantum electronics and photonics. Administered by the OSA Foundation, this speakership is endowed by The Gordon family, and supporters of the James P. Gordon Memorial Fund.
Tingye Li Innovation Prize
Antonietta De Sio, Universität Oldenburg, Germany, won for her submission entitled, “50x50 Digital Silicon Photonic Switches with MEMS-Actuated Adiabatic Coupler.” De Sio will receive a $3,000 prize, special recognition during the conference and a certificate.

Established in 2013, the Tingye Li Innovation Prize recognizes top-performing young professionals who have demonstrated innovation in their research via a paper and reference documents submitted for consideration during CLEO 2015. The prize is administered by the OSA Foundation and endowed by Alliance Fiber Optic Products, Inc., AT&T, The Optical Society, IEEE Photonics Society, IEEE Communications Society, Thorlabs  and the Tingye Li Memorial Fund.

Maiman Competition
The grand prize and two honorable mentions were presented today during the plenary and awards ceremony at CLEO 2015. The CLEO 2015 technical program committee reviewed and scored nearly one thousand submissions. Five finalists presented their research in a private session to the CLEO 2015 program and general co-chairs yesterday afternoon. The presentations were judged based on innovation, research excellence and presentation ability.

Grand prize:
Shuo Sun, University of Maryland, United States
Paper Topic: A solid-state spin-photon transistor

Honorable mentions:
Richard Geiger, Paul Scherrer Institute, ETH Zürich Switzerland
Paper Topic: A Direct Band Gap GeSn Laser on Si

Muhammad Rodlin Billah, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology Germany
Paper Topic: Multi-Chip Integration of Lasers and Silicon Photonics by Photonic Wire Bonding

The winner will receive a check for $3,000. Honorable mentions will receive a certificate.

Established in 2008 in memory of Theodore Maiman, the Maiman Competition was founded in acknowledgement of his inspiring contributions to the field of optics and photonics, including the invention of the first working laser. The program recognizes student pioneers in the areas of laser technology and electro-optics and is endowed by HRL Laboratories, LLC, IEEE Photonics Society and APS Division of Laser Science.

Travel Grants
The OSA Foundation awarded the Incubic/Milton Chang Student Travel Grant to ten world renowned recipients from eight countries who presented research papers this week at CLEO 2015.
The Incubic/Milton Chang Travel Grant recipients are:

• Amir Khodabakhsh, Umeå University, Sweden
• Logan Wright, Cornell University, USA
• Matthew Applegate, Tufts University, USA
• Patrik Rath, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
• Rokas Drevinskas, University of Southampton, United Kingdom
• Vincent Michaud-Belleau, L'Université Laval, Canada
• Yi-Jing You, National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan
• Jianguo Huang, Xian Jiaotong University, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
• Bingying Chen, Peking University, China
• Gregory Moille, Thales Research & Technology, France

Funded by an endowment by Milton and Rosalind Chang, The Incubic/Milton Chang Student Travel Grants provide ten grants of up to $500 to enable students to present at CLEO, as well as ten grants for OSA’s annual meeting, Frontiers in Optics. Students’ paper submissions, financial need and letters of recommendation are all considered during the selection process.

About The OSA Foundation
The OSA Foundation is a 501(c)(3) non-profit foundation established by The Optical Society (OSA) in 2002 to carry out charitable activities that support OSA’s mission of promoting the generation, application, archiving and worldwide dissemination of knowledge in optics and photonics. The foundation helps cultivate the next generation of leaders and innovators in the optics and photonics community as they move through advanced degree programs and become active members of research and engineering communities around the globe. To date, The OSA Foundation has awarded more than 800 grants, scholarships, and prizes benefiting thousands of individuals in more than 55 countries. For more information, visit www.osa.org/foundation.


About CLEO
With a distinguished history as the industry's leading event on laser science, the Conference on Lasers and Electro-Optics (CLEO) is the premier international forum for scientific and technical optics, uniting the fields of lasers and opto-electronics by bringing together all aspects of laser technology, from basic research to industry applications. CLEO: Expo showcases the latest products and applications from more than 300 participating companies from around the world, providing hands-on demonstrations of the latest market innovations and applications. The Expo also offers valuable on-floor programming, including Market Focus and the Technology Transfer program.

Managed by The Optical Society (OSA) and sponsored by the American Physical Society's (APS) Laser Science Division, IEEE Photonics Society and OSA, CLEO provides the full range of critical developments in the field, showcasing the most significant milestones from laboratory to marketplace. With an unparalleled breadth and depth of coverage, CLEO connects all of the critical vertical markets in lasers and electro-optics. For more information, visit the event website at cleoconference.org. CLEO 2015 takes place 10-15 May 2015 at the San Jose Convention Center, San Jose, California, USA. Follow developments and updates on CLEO 2015 on Twitter @CLEOConf, #CLEO15.

Media Contacts:
Rebecca B. Andersen    Melanie Salemno
The Optical Society    The Optical Society
randersen@osa.org    msalemno@osa.org
+1 202.416.1443    +1 202.416.1947


Sponsored by: