• Technical Conference:  5 – 10 May 2019
  • Exhibition: 7 – 9 May 2019

Theodore Maiman Student Paper Competition Semi-Finalists Announced


19 April 2012

Sarah Cogan
The Optical Society

Theodore Maiman Student Paper Competition Semi-Finalists Announced

WASHINGTON , April 19 – The OSA Foundation (OSAF), HRL Laboratories LLC, the IEEE Photonics Society and the APS Division of Laser Science are pleased to announce the semi-finalists for the annual Theodore Maiman Student Paper Competition. The winners will be announced at the 2012 Conference on Lasers and Electro Optics (CLEO: 2012), taking place in San Jose May 6-11.

The Maiman Student Paper Competition honors American physicist Theodore Maiman for his amazing invention, the first working laser, and his other outstanding contributions to optics and photonics. It recognizes student innovation and research excellence in the areas of laser technology and electro-optics. The award is endowed by a grant from HRL Laboratories LLC, the IEEE Photonics Society and the APS Division of Laser Science and is administered by OSAF.

This year’s 35 semi-finalists were selected from more than 890 submissions. All submissions were reviewed and scored by the CLEO: 2012 technical program committee and the semi-finalists were selected based on standard CLEO: 2012 paper review criteria. The top three semi-finalists will be selected by CLEO: 2012 conference general and program chairs to present their research in a private session and will be judged based on innovation, research excellence and presentation ability. One grand prize winner and two honorable mentions will be announced on-site during the CLEO: 2012 Plenary and Awards Ceremony, Tuesday, May 8.

2012 Semi-Finalists:

  • Martynas Beresna, University Southampton, United Kingdom
  • Jeremy Bos, Michigan Technological University, United States
  • Michael Chini, University of Central Florida, United States
  • Jeffrey Driscoll, Columbia University, United States
  • Stefan Droste, Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics, Germany
  • Sarah Falke, University Oldenburg, Germany
  • Matthias Feinaeugle, University of Southampton, United Kingdom
  • Lucas Gabrielli, Cornell University, United States
  • Mohammed Hassan, Max Planck Institute for Quantum Optics, Germany
  • Nazanin Hoghooghi, University of Central Florida, United States
  • Min Huang, Boston University, United States
  • Takuro Ideguchi, Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics, Germany
  • Dietmar Korn, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
  • Nick Leindecker, Stanford University, United States
  • Guan-Bo Lin, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, United States
  • Shuchang Liu, University of Utah, United States
  • Chien-Yao Lu, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, United States
  • Mingzhi Lu, University of California, Santa  Barbara, United States
  • Ka Fai Mak, Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light, Germany
  • Andrew Metcalf, Purdue University, United States
  • Hari Nair, The University of Texas at Austin, United States
  • Spas Nedev, LMU Munich, Germany
  • Jun Ong, University of California San Diego, United States
  • Antonin Poisson, University Paris-Sud, Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics, France
  • Katharina Predehl, Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics, Germany
  • Kasturi Saha, Cornell University, United States
  • Clara Saraceno, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
  • Rene Schmogrow, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
  • Michael Sprague, University of Oxford, United Kingdom
  • Adam Straub, Cornell University, United States
  • Takeshi Suzuki, The University of Tokyo, Japan
  • Yu-Cheng Tsai, Princeton University, United States
  • Zhenyou Wang, University of Alberta, Canada
  • Yuji Zhao, University of California, Santa Barbara, United States
  • Guoan Zheng, California Institute of Technology, United States

About the OSA Foundation

The OSA Foundation (OSAF) was established in 2002 to support philanthropic activities that help further the Optical Society's (OSA) mission. The OSAF is concentrating its efforts on programs that provide career and professional development resources and support awards and honors that recognize technical and business excellence. The grants funded by the OSA Foundation are made possible by the generous donations of its supporters as well as the dollar-for-dollar match by OSA. The Foundation is exempt from U.S. federal income taxes under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code and is a public charity. To learn more about the OSA Foundation, please visit www.osa-foundation.org.

About CLEO

With a distinguished history as the industry’s leading event on laser science, the Conference on Lasers and Electro-Optics (CLEO) is where laser technology was first introduced. CLEO: 2012 will unite the field of lasers and electro-optics by bringing together all aspects of laser technology, with content stemming from basic research to industry application. Sponsored by the American Physical Society’s (APS) Laser Science Division, the Institute of Electronic Engineers (IEEE) Photonics Society and the Optical Society (OSA), CLEO: 2012 provides the full range of critical developments in the field, showcasing the most significant milestones from laboratory to marketplace. With an unparalleled breadth and depth of coverage, CLEO: 2012 connects all of the critical vertical markets in lasers and electro-optics. For more information, visit the conference's website at www.cleoconference.org.

Sponsored by: