Technical Conference:
14 – 19 May 2017
16 – 18 May 2017

Awards, Grants and Prizes

Students, recent graduates and early-career professionals are encouraged to take advantage of CLEO Student Programs and Career Services.

IEEE Photonics Society Awards

The IEEE Photonics Society has a number of awards to which its members can apply. Please visit Awards Information to see if you qualify.

OSA Foundation Awards

Maiman Student Paper Competition 

The Maiman Student Paper Competition honors Theodore Maiman for his amazing invention, the first working laser, and his other outstanding contributions to optics and photonics; it recognizes the innovation, research excellence and presentation skills in the areas of laser technology and electro-optics of a student.

The award is endowed by a grant from HRL Laboratories, LLC, IEEE Photonics Society (formerly LEOS) and APS Division of Laser Science and is administered by the OSA Foundation. Papers submitted to CLEO during the regular "call for papers" are eligible for entry. Students must opt-in to the competition during the submissions process. 
The finalists present their papers to a panel of judges in a private session during CLEO. The top prize winner receives $3,000 USD; two honorable mention recipients each receive a certificate. The results are announced on-site during the Plenary Session.

Tingye Li Innovation Prize 

The Tingye Li Innovation Prize, established in 2013, honors the global impact Dr. Li made to the field of Optics and Photonics. This prize is presented to a young professional who has demonstrated innovative research via a paper and reference documents submitted for consideration during the CLEO Conference.
The grand prize recipient receives a $3,000 prize, a special invitation to the CLEO Chairs' Reception, special recognition during the conference and a certificate. 
The prize is endowed by Alliance Fiber Optic Products, Inc., AT&T, The Optical Society, IEEE Photonics Society, IEEE Communications Society, Thorlabs, Inc, The Li Family and supporters of the Tingye Li Memorial Fund, and is administered by the OSA Foundation

Incubic/Milton Chang Travel Grant 

Funded by an endowment from Milton and Rosalind Chang and managed by the OSA Foundation, this program provides 10 travel grants of $500 USD each to students presenting papers at CLEO. Travel grants are awarded to the presenter and usually the first author of the paper.

Sponsored by: